The American Horticultural Society (AHS) has announced the recipients of the Society’s 2016 Great American Gardeners Awards. Individuals, organizations, and companies that receive these awards represent the best in American gardening and horticulture. Each has contributed significantly to fields such as plant research, garden communication, landscape design, youth gardening, floral design, and teaching.

Among this year’s winners is John G. Fairey, Regents Professor (retired) in the Department of Architecture at Texas A&M University and founder of Peckerwood Garden in Hempstead, Texas, who is receiving the AHS’s highest honor, the Liberty Hyde Bailey Award, for his many important contributions to horticulture. The AHS applauds all of this year’s recipients for their passionate commitment to American gardening and their outstanding achievements within their area of expertise. This year’s Great American Gardeners Award recipients are:

 John G. Fairey (Hempstead, Texas)—Liberty Hyde Bailey Award

Charles Hess, Ph.D. (Davis, California)—H. Marc Cathey Award

Scott Skogerboe (Fort Collins, Colorado)—Paul Ecke Jr. Commercial Award

Carol R. Johnson (Boston, Massachusetts)—Landscape Design Award

Leslie S. Ariail (Alexandria, Virginia)—Meritorious Service Award

Jeff Lowenfels (Anchorage, Alaska)—B.Y. Morrison Communication Award

MaryEllen J. M. O’Brien (Sheffield, Massachusetts)—Frances Jones Poetker Award

R. William Thomas (Wayne, Pennsylvania)—Professional Award

Kitty and Tom Stoner (Annapolis, Maryland)—Catherine H. Sweeney Award

Kathy Sapp Lovett and Lee Lovett (Gainesville, Georgia)—Jane L. Taylor Award

Terry L. Ferriss, Ph.D. (Hastings, Minnesota)—Teaching Award

Timothy M. Kant (Fairhope, Alabama)—Urban Beautification Award 

On June 2, the American Horticultural Society will honor these award recipients during the Great American Gardeners Awards Ceremony and Banquet. This event will be held at the Society’s national headquarters at River Farm in Alexandria, Virginia with Presenting Sponsor Marcia and Klaus Zech in honor of Jane Diamantis, Awards Committee Chair.