The San Diego County Flower & Plant Association announced that Aaron Bivens, General Manager for First Step Greenhouses will be joining the board of directors.  Aaron has an A.A.S. degree in Ornamental Horticulture and a B.S. in Ag Sciences.  He spent the previous 10 years working in the nursery industry in Oregon before relocating to Southern California last September.   Aaron comes to us after serving seven years on the Oregon Association of Nurseries holding positions as the Treasurer, Vice President and President.  He is excited to be participating with the San Diego County Flower & Plant Association.

Also joining the board is Dan Sforzo of Arthur J. Gallagher has been providing insurance solutions for the horticulture industry for the last 8 years. He has developed specialty insurance and risk management products tailored to the industry’s needs. Dan prides himself on excellent customer service and bringing solutions to his clients.  He is excited to be a part of The San Diego Flower & Plant Association and is eager to meet new people and learn more about the industry.

Rounding out the 2015-2016 Board of Directors is Jonathan Cooper account manager for Flamingo Holland, a bulb and perennial supplier in Vista, CA. Jonathan was born and raised in Escondido, and after earning a degree in International Business from Azusa Pacific University in 2011, returned to Escondido to pursue a career in horticulture. Jonathan is honored to be a part of the board of directors and is excited to work with the San Diego County Flower & Plant Association to help grow the horticulture industry in San Diego.

The 2015-2016 slate of officers is President: Eric Anderson, Anderson Seed Co. (Escondido), First Vice President: Juan Carlos Aguilar, Dramm & Echter (Encinitas), Second Vice President: Aaron Bivens, First Step Greenhouses (Temecula), Treasurer: Steve Bagby, Zenith Insurance (San Diego), and Secretary: Susan MacFarland, Valley View Nursery (San Marcos). Completing the board is Dan Sforzo, Arthur J. Gallagher (San Diego), Jack Reid, Poppelmann Plastics (Desert Hot Springs), Mercedes Medina, Premier Tech Horticulture (Mira Loma).