The Ohio Department of Agriculture (ODA) has released a list of 38 plants banned for sale or distribution in the state based on their invasive characteristics. The rule went into effect on January 7. According to the ODA, “Under the law invasive plants are defined as plant species that are not native to Ohio whose introduction causes or is likely to cause economic or environmental harm, or harm to human health as determined by scientific studies.” The rule follows “nearly two years of stakeholder research.”

Although the rule is already in effect, the ODA stated, “These rules include a grace period for the prohibition to take effect for some species, which allows businesses time to transition toward alternative plants to market as replacements.”

Included in the list of banned plants are many that already have been phased out or are under close scrutiny in trade, ranging from Ailanthus altissima and Berberis vulgaris through Lonicera japonica and Lythrum salicaria to Rhamnus cathartica and Rosa multiflora. Vincetoxicum nigrum, aka black dog-strangling vine, should have been banned simply for the awfulness of its common name.

Lythrum virgatum (European wand loosestrife) and Pyrus calleryana (callery pear) will be banned on January 7, 2019, and January 7, 2023, respectively.

Read More: