Webinar: Substrate management practices - American Nurseryman Magazine - Horticulture Magazine and Horticulture Books - Webinar: Substrate management practices

Webinar: Substrate management practices

4/30/2014

Save the date: Tuesday, May 6.

Dr. Andrew Ristvey, extension specialist - Commercial Horticulture at the University of Maryland, will present "Substrate management practices vital for pathogen risk mitigation" in a USDA-sponsored Irrigation Pathogens & Water Quality webinar. Here's the summary:

"Potting substrates or media come in all forms, each having various characteristics that should be understood and managed accordingly. Careful management of these substrates is essential for mitigating the risk of pathogens entering and negatively affecting the production system. Creating cultural conditions that prevent disease development is an important step in disease management, well before the first application of fungicides. In this webinar, learn some of the methods of effective substrate management, from initial inspection of media to well after the plants have been dibbled in. This webinar will show you not only how, but why these methods are necessary, from discussion of theory to practical implementation of best management practices." 

The one-hour webinar is scheduled for Tuesday, May 6 at noon Eastern time. (That's 11 a.m. Central, 10 a.m. Mountain and 9 a.m. Pacific times.) 

To register, go to https://connect.extension.iastate.edu/irrigation-water/

To participate, go to https://connect.extension.iastate.edu/irrigation-water/
then dial 1-888-619-1583 and enter pass code 491981

If you're interested in catching up on previous seminars in this series, go to http://www.irrigation-pathogens.ppws.vt.edu/webinar/index.php